The Curriculum

We aim to provide a broad, balanced and stimulating curriculum that is relevant to the children’s needs.


We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, which is split into 3 Prime areas and 4 Specific areas.


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development – self confidence and self-awareness, making relationships, managing feelings and behaviour
  • Physical Development – moving and handling, health and self-care
  • Communication and Language – listening, understanding, speaking


  • Literacy – reading, writing
  • Mathematical Development – numbers, shape, space and measure
  • Understanding the World – people and communities, the world, technology
  • Expressive Arts and Design – exploring media and materials, being imaginative.

For more detailed information on what we learn, download the EYFS Jigsaw (PDF, 260KB).

Years 1 – 6

We follow the National Curriculum.  At the Primary Stage this consists of the following subjects:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Design and Technology
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and Design
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE), including swimming
  • Computing
  • Ancient and Modern Foreign Languages (at Key Stage 2)

Religious Education

Religious Education is also taught throughout the school. Through this subject children learn about the major world faiths. They have opportunity to compare them to christian beliefs whilst developing respect for different religions and ways of life.

Whilst we hope that all children would be allowed this opportunity we respect that parents do have the right to withdraw children from Religious Education and Collective Worship (Assembly) if they believe participation would be detrimental to their own beliefs and practices. In such circumstances alternative provision would be made.

Wherever possible we apply a thematic approach to help make topics more relevant to children and to help children make links between subjects and prior learning.


For more detailed information on what we learn, download the Year 1 – 6 Jigsaw (PDF, 771KB).


Forest School

During the summer term, Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1 take part in Forest School activities around the school grounds and in Jubilee Wood. We all put on our wellies and head outside.

The sessions give children the opportunity to learn through experience within an outdoor setting in a hands on manner to develop their self-esteem and confidence.  They also have the opportunity to develop an inquisitive and positive relationship with the natural world and respect in preparation for an ever changing world.


We teach phonics throughout the school using the Letters and Sounds Programme, along with the Jolly Phonics actions and stories.
Letters and Sounds is a six-phase systematic synthetic phonics programme that is designed to help children become fluent readers by the age of seven. It focuses on the ‘simple view of reading’ and high-quality phonics (using blending and segmentation techniques). This helps to teach children the correspondences between graphemes (letters) in written language and the phonemes (sounds) in spoken language. These correspondences can then help children to read and spell words.

Letters and Sounds begins with a focus on listening skills and sound-making in phase one. The teaching of systematic synthetic phonics begins with phase two, where children start to be taught the relationship between written letters (graphemes) and the sounds of spoken English (phonemes). Blending and segmenting skills are taught from the start, and applied into reading fully decidable captions and phrases. The programme includes the teaching of high frequency words. By the end of the programme, children are expected to have developed strong decoding (reading) and encoding (spelling) skills. Children usually secure accurate word reading before they secure comparable accuracy in spelling; therefore the teaching and learning of spelling continues beyond the programme.


In Foundation Stage and KS1 we use a range of different books from several different schemes including Oxford Reading Tree and Bug Club for individual and home reading. The different reading schemes are graded by difficulty. They are split into reading levels known as Book Bands.  Each Book Band has its own colour and each book is individually stickered to indicate its level. We use the Collins Big Cat series for Guided Reading. We also have a variety of other reading material for use alongside these schemes.


Children are continually assessed and encouraged to evaluate their own learning. To support this process in Reading, Writing and Numeracy children share “I can” statements with their teacher. These help the children to know what they have achieved and what their next step for learning is.

In all lessons children are given clear learning targets and success criteria to make the activities planned meaningful and to help the children evaluate their own performance.